top of page

First Book Illustrated


I created the cover image first and then created a storyboard to figure out what other illustrations I needed.


This week, I worked on the illustrations for my first children's book, This Book Needs A Laugh. It took several hours to draw all the expressions and the other little characters. I wanted to go minimalist and simple for this concept, so I knew I could do these myself. It was really rewarding, too, to see the concept I had in my mind’s eye put on the actual page. I bet it is only a fraction of the excitement I’ll feel once all of this is an actual book in my hands!



I originally thought I'd only draw in black, but I decided to add in a little color here and there. Kids LOVE color!

I'm currently looking for an illustrator for another of the children's books I've written, Dream River, because I know that will go beyond my abilities. I so wish that I had studied art in college. I can see every book I write in my head, but I don’t always have the know-how to create the visual aspect of my books. It’s a bit frustrating, to be honest.


Once I get my illustrations digitized today, I'll be adding them into the Amazon Kindle Kids Book software and going from there! I hope to have my first children’s book up and running on Amazon very soon. So exciting!


Since I am on the cusp of publishing my first book, I started my LLC today, which is another exciting business step that I've been mulling over for the past few months. It was surprisingly easy. I did it all online in about 15 minutes through my state's Secretary of State website.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Premiere of The River Fairy's Wish Song

Tonight at 7 p.m. CST, I'll be premiering the song from my children's book The River Fairy's Wish, "Dream River Flows All Around," performed by vocal actress Megan Rutledge for the audio book version

bottom of page