top of page

National Haiku Day

In honor of National Haiku Day, I wrote a quick little poem to honor this fun Japanese form. Haikus were one of my favorite types of poems to work on with students when I taught Creative Writing to high school students several years back. As a writer, it is important to challenge yourself with different forms of writing. A haiku, in case you don't know, is a three line poem made up of five syllables, seven syllables, and five syllables. The following is my haiku:

"Dreams"

Persistence moves me,

Writing dreams, making up things,

Running on coffee.

Ok, I realize that I should probably never use the word things in a poem, but there it is in black and white for posterity. It flows. It feels right. Always trust your gut.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page