top of page

Submission Queen

I have been working really hard to get some of the things published that I have been working on for years. Today, I submitted a play I wrote years back entitled Prom at Carol High, which is an adaption of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol for junior high and high school audiences. As CCHS Drama Club sponsor, I had directed this play with my high school students for our school in 2015, and it was well-received. I went back through the script over the past week, revising where needed and having it proofread. I hope that it gets picked up by the respectable high school play company that I chose to submit it to today.


I also took a flash fiction story that I had written in college and revised over the past few weeks, and I submitted it to a literary magazine today. I'm not sure if it fits their magazine, but I also plan to simultaneously submit it to one or two others before the month is up to see if anyone is interested in it.


Always read submission guidelines on the website!

I also sent a children's book off to some publishing companies today after work. Instead of waiting for an agent to approve my writing, I'm sending the few books I already have ready straight to publishing companies.


Manuscripts sealed and ready for postage

What you may not know about submitting works to various publications is that much of your time is taken up in formatting the final draft a certain way, checking the publisher for their submission guidelines to make sure that you are adhering to them, and writing cover letters for each submission that you make.


In addition to all of that, I have been giving senior exams for two days and getting everything graded, senior grades posted, and all lessons finished up for my 9th-11th graders. Monday, we will be reviewing for their exams. It has been a busy week for me! I'm proud of all that I've accomplished this week.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page