top of page

This Book Needs a Laugh Released

I finally did it! I accomplished my dream of publishing my first book. This Book Needs a Laugh, an interactive kid's book, went live on Amazon on September 11th, and it has been a whirlwind of excitement and hard work as I continue to market it while working on my upcoming work for adults, a poetry and prose collection already available for pre-order called Embrace the Beauty (more about that later). This Book Needs a Laugh is about a sad book that needs cheering up, so it enlists the reader's help by asking the child to do silly things, such as roaring like a dinosaur, yodeling, and tickling the book. It leads to lots of silly antics and giggles, while also opening up the doors of discussion about important concepts like emotions and empathy.


This Book Needs a Laugh by Cyrena Shows is available on Amazon. Click here to order!

This Book Needs a Laugh has been well-received. I had a article published in to local newspapers, which created a lot of local buzz. Soon after it released, it even achieved #1 New Release in its category on Amazon! I was elated. Lots of positive and well-written reviews have been trickling in as the print edition finally arrived to customers, who were happy about their purchase. I am deeply touched by how supportive my family and friends have been about its release.





It has definitely been an exciting last three weeks. But there is no time to rest! I have several speaking and signing events lined up to prepare for, I'm finishing up edits on my preorder collection so it can go to beta readers before a final edit, and I'm trying to get everything together to finish up my second children's book so that I can hopefully release it by January of next year. I'm also still writing my novel when I get a spare few minutes.


When I set out to become an author, I was determined to make this a successful business, so I expected that it would be hard work and take a lot of dedication. I am loving every minute of it, though. If I could skip sleep everyday and work through the night, I'd do it! My teaching career and caring for two kids prevents that, though, so I have to make the best of the time I do have each day, which is why I haven't updated the blog in several weeks. Look for more frequents updates, though, since I am finally figuring out how to juggles things with my new business.


If you'd like to order This Book Needs a Laugh, please find it on Amazon or CLICK HERE. Thanks!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Premiere of The River Fairy's Wish Song

Tonight at 7 p.m. CST, I'll be premiering the song from my children's book The River Fairy's Wish, "Dream River Flows All Around," performed by vocal actress Megan Rutledge for the audio book version

bottom of page